Our business-led workforce board represents private businesses, education, organized labor, local governments, community-based and nonprofit organizations, state agencies and economic development councils.

The board provides strategic direction and oversight for the local area’s workforce plan; defines policies, goals and objectives that meet the workforce needs of business and individuals; and evaluates the workforce system that serves Southwest Washington. Investments are made based on the strategic direction set by the Board and in keeping with the guidelines of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.

Workforce Southwest Washington’s board meets quarterly in March, June, September and December. Meetings are open to the public.

2020 Board Meetings

March 11, 2020 4-6 p.m.
Lower Columbia College
Student Center Conference Rooms STC120 A, B, and C
1600 Maple Street, Longview
(The conference rooms are located on the lower level, right off of the cafeteria in the student center)

June 10, 2020 4-6 p.m.
Zoom Conference Call

Meeting ID: 772 574 292

Password: 165688

September 9, 2020 4-6 p.m.
Zoom Conference Call

Meeting ID: 772 574 292
Password: 165688

December 9, 2020 4-6 p.m.
Zoom Conference Call

Meeting ID: 772 574 292
Password: 165688

Local Workforce Development Board Members as of June 2020

Michele Mulhern Columbia Unit Supervisor Department of Social and Health Services
Clark County WorkSource Partner (DVR)
Ben Bagherpour Vice President of Operations SEH America
Clark County Private Sector
Christopher Bailey, JD President Lower Columbia College
Cowlitz County Secondary Education
Jennifer Baker President Columbia River Economic Development Council
Clark County Economic Development Sector
Mike Bridges Organized Labor Representative Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Central Labor Council
Cowlitz County Organized Labor Sector
Bob Carroll Business Representative IBEW Local Union 48
Clark County Organized Labor Sector
Renny Christopher Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
WSW Treasurer
Washington State University Vancouver
Clark County Post-Secondary Education
Monte Constable Community Services Office Administrator Department of Social and Health Services
Clark County WorkSource Partner
Kelley Foy HR Business Partner
WSW Vice Chair
Cowlitz County Private Sector
Scott Haas Southwest Coastal Regional Director Employment Security Department
WorkSource Centers
Mara Kieval Nurse Representative Washington State Nurses Association
Clark County Organized Labor Sector
Ralph Clark Owner Cowlitz Container & Diecutting
Cowlitz County Private Sector
Ilona Kerby Executive Director Lower Columbia CAP
Cowlitz County Community-Based Organization
Eddie Martin Human Resources NORPAC
Cowlitz County Private Sector
Diane McWithey Executive Director Share Vancouver
Clark County Community-Based Organization
A.D. Simmons Owner Aligned Lifestyle Concierge
Clark County Private Sector
Ted Sprague President Cowlitz Economic Development Council
Cowlitz County Economic Development Sector
Paige Spratt Attorney at Law
WSW Board Chair
Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt
Clark County Private Sector
John Vanderkin VP Operations
WSW Immediate Past Board Chair
On-Line Support
Clark County Private Sector
Darcy Altizer Director of Innovation Matrix Roofing & Home Solutions
Clark County Private Sector
Robert Jungers Owner Elochoman Millwork
Wahkiakum Private Sector
Bob Gustainis District Manager Walgreens Tacoma-Vancouver
Cowlitz County Private Sector
Shannon Stull Business Manager LiUNA 335
Cowlitz County Organized Labor Sector

The Executive Board appoints members to the Local Workforce Development Board and provides oversight of the Workforce Board’s policies, procedures and budget.

Executive Board of County Commissioners

Clark County – Councilor Julie Olson  (WSW Executive Board Member)

Cowlitz County – Commissioner Dennis Weber (Chief Local Elected Official for WSW)

Wahkiakum County – Commissioner Mike Backman

Workforce Soutwest Washington logo
Skip to content