Board & Committees


Our business-led workforce board represents private businesses, education, organized labor, local governments, community-based and nonprofit organizations, state agencies and economic development councils.

The board provides strategic direction and oversight for the local area’s workforce plan; defines policies, goals and objectives that meet the workforce needs of business and individuals; and evaluates the workforce system that serves Southwest Washington. Investments are made based on the strategic direction set by the Board and in keeping with the guidelines of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.

Workforce Southwest Washington’s board meets quarterly in March, June, September and December. Meetings are open to the public.

2018 Board Meetings

March 14, 2018 4-6 p.m.
Lower Columbia College
1600 Maple Street, Longview, WA 98632
Student Center, Second Floor, Room 210

June 13, 2018 4-6 p.m.
Partners in Careers (PIC)
3210 NE 52nd Street, Vancouver, WA 98663
Main Conference Room

September 12, 2018 4-6 p.m.
Lower Columbia College
1600 Maple Street, Longview, WA 98632
Student Center, Second Floor, Room 210

December 12, 2018 4-6 p.m.
Partners in Careers (PIC)
3210 NE 52nd Street, Vancouver, WA 98663
Main Conference Room

Local Workforce Development Board Members as of July 2017

Bianca Kolle Vocational Rehabilitation Supervisor Department of Social and Health Services
Clark County WorkSource Partner (DVR)
Ben Bagherpour Vice President of Operations SEH America
Clark County Private Sector
Christopher Bailey, JD President Lower Columbia College
Cowlitz County Secondary Education
Mike Bomar President Columbia River Economic Development Council
Clark County Economic Development Sector
Mike Bridges Organized Labor Representative Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Central Labor Council
Cowlitz County Organized Labor Sector
Bob Carroll Business Representative IBEW Local Union 48
Clark County Organized Labor Sector
Renny Christopher Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Washington State University Vancouver
Clark County Post-Secondary Education
Kelley Foy HR Manager Columbia Machine, Inc.
Clark County Private Sector
Robert Gaffney Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Gaffney Counseling and Consulting
Clark County Private Sector
Anne Goranson Southwest Regional Director Employment Security Department
WorkSource Centers
Kristine Hammond Community Service Office Department of Social and Health Services
Clark County Division of Vocational Rehab Sector
 Robert Harris Vice President JH Kelly
Cowlitz County Private Sector
Kathy Jennings Organized Labor Representative Washington Federation of State Employees
Clark County Organized Labor Sector
Ilona Kerby Executive Director Lower Columbia CAP
Cowlitz County Community-Based Organization
Bob Knight President Clark College
Clark County Post-Secondary Education
Jim Lucey Controller
WSW Treasurer
Linear Technology
Clark County Private Sector
Eddie Martin Human Resources NORPAC/Weyerhaeuser
Cowlitz County Private Sector
Keith McPhun Vice President of Operations Cornell Pump
Clark County Private Sector
Diane McWithey Executive Director Share Vancouver
Clark County Community-Based Organization
Angela Simmons Owner Aligned Lifestyle Concierge
Clark County Private Sector
Bill Skidmore Senior Account Executive
WSW Board Vice-Chair
General Sheet Metal
Clark County Private Sector
Denise Smith Chief Operating Officer Rebound Orthopedics & Neurosurgery
Clark County Private Sector
Ted Sprague President Cowlitz Economic Development Council
Cowlitz County Economic Development Sector
Paige Spratt Attorney at Law Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt
Clark County Private Sector
John Vanderkin President
WSW Board Chair
Employers Overload
Clark County Private Sector
Darcy Altizer Executive Director SW WA Contractors Association
Clark County Private Sector
Paige Lake Executive Director Wahkiakum Chamber of Commerce
Wahkiakum Private Sector
Bob Gustainis District Manager Walgreens Tacoma-Vancouver
Cowlitz County Private Sector
Frank Hurtarte Vice President, Human Resources, NW Region Kaiser Permanente
Clark County Private Sector
Shannon Stull Business Manager LiUNA 335
Cowlitz County Organized Labor Sector

The Executive Board appoints members to the Local Workforce Development Board and provides oversight of the Workforce Board’s policies, procedures and budget.

Executive Board of County Commissioners as of July 2017

Clark County – Councilor Julie Olson (Chief Elected Official for WSW)

Cowlitz County – Commissioner Dennis Weber (WSW Executive Board Member)

Wahkiakum County – Commissioner Mike Backman


Community Workforce Partnership (CWP): The CWP assures the appropriate return on investment of public funds through our regional WorkSource centers and establishes innovative and strategic partnerships that support job seekers and employers throughout Southwest Washington.

The CWP meets quarterly on the second Monday of the selected month from 9-10:30 a.m. Locations rotate. Contact Kevin Perkey at or 360.567.1066 for details.

As of September 1, 2016

Robert Gaffney Committee Chair
Gaffney Consulting
Anne Goranson Employment Security Department, Regional Director
Kevin Perkey Workforce Southwest Washington
Eka Frimpong WorkSource Clark County
Dave Cole WorkSource
Noel Woods WorkSource
Diane McWithey SHARE Vancouver
John Vanderkin Employers Overload
Nona Mallicoat WorkSource Cowlitz-Wahkiakum
Cass Parker Workforce Southwest Washington
Meredith Harding Dept. of Services for the Blind
Kristine Hammond Dept. Social & Health Services
Monica Wilson Clark College
Paige Spratt Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt
Priscilla Benavides-Campos Employment Security Department
Renny Christopher WSU Vancouver
Savannah Patton Vancouver Housing Authority
Tamara Bell Lower Columbia College
Tina Ailinger Division of Vocational Rehabilitation

Emerging Workforce Committee (EWC): Representing the private sector, workforce, nonprofits, and education, the committee advocates for and supports youth services in alignment with WSW’s strategic plan and reviews the performance of WSW’s youth services contractors.

The EWC meets quarterly on the third Tuesday of the month from 3-4:30 p.m. Locations rotate. Contact Miriam Martin at or 360.567.3183 for details.

As of November 2017

Christine Katon ESD112
Angela Cruz A First Place
Marcie Ebarb WA State School for the Blind
Darcy Altizer SW WA Contractors Association
Darcy Hoffman WorkSource Vancouver
Katie Miles Goodwill Columbia Rainier
Eric Kindvall Employment Security Department
Carl Cecka Goodwill Columbia Rainier
Mark Wreath Vancouver School District
Mike Bridges Union-IBEW #48
Miriam Martin Workforce Southwest Washington
Sue Orchard Lower Columbia College
Kelley Foy Columbia Machine
Melissa Boles Workforce Southwest Washington
Dennis Kampe Cascadia Technical Academy
Jim Lucey Linear Technology Corporation
Miriam Martin Workforce Southwest Washington
Matt Anderson Biggs Insurance
Kelly McNutt Kiewit Corporation
 Josh Beaman Clark County Youth House
Rebecca Royce Clark County Community Services Dept.
Angela Simmons Aligned Lifestyle Concierge
Bill Skidmore General Sheet Metal
Denise Smith Rebound Orthopedics & Neurosurgery
Mike Zahnizer LaborWorks Inc.
Andrew Westlund Partners in Careers
Ryan Cunningham WorkSource
William Westmoreland Workforce Southwest Washington
Cass Parker Workforce Southwest Washington
Morgan Parker WorkSource
Workforce Soutwest Washington logo